BJP alliance wins Assam again

Total Views |

Assam_1  H x W:
Guwahati: As expected the ruling Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) led alliance wins the Assam legislative assembly elections, held on 27 March, 1 and 6 April last, and returns to power in Dispur for the second consecutive time. It’s a kind of records for a non-Congress party in the State, which even Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) could not achieve with massive public supports.
The saffron alliance comprising AGP and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) may be successful in sending over 70 representatives to the 126 member-assembly in the final outcome as the counting of votes, started at 8 am on Sunday, continues till filing of this report. The opposition Congress led grand alliance comprising of All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Bodoland People’s Front (BPF), Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist), Anchalik Gana Morcha (AGM), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) etc is restricted within 55 seats. Amazingly, State Congress president Ripun Borah has lost his electoral battle in Gohpur seat.
Incumbent State chief minister and senior BJP leader Sarbananda Sonowal has won the Majuli assembly constituency for the second time, whereas powerful minister Himanta Biswa Sarma remerges successful in Jalukbari seat as usual. The State assembly speaker Hintendra Nath Goswami won Jorhat constituency, whereas the State BJP president Ranjeet Kr Dass wins in Patacharkuchi constituency. State saffron ministers Chandra Mohan Patowary (Dharmapur), Siddhartha Bhattacharya (East Guwahati), Bhabesh Kalita (Rongiya), Ranjit Dutta (Bihali), Naba Doley (Dhokuakhana) are also in the winners’ list.
Saffron candidates Atul Bora (Dispur), Suman Haripriya (Hajo), Hemanga Thakuria (Palasbari), Mrinal Saikia (Khumtai), Ranoj Pegu (Dhemaji), Jayanta Malla Barua (Nalbari), Ajanta Neog (Golaghat), Teras Gowala (Duliajan), Ashok Singhal (Dhekiajuli), etc also win the battles. AGP president Atul Bora emerged successful in Bokakhat and AGP’s working president Keshab Mahnata won in Kaliabar constituency. Party leaders Phanibhusan Choudhury (Bongaigaon), Ramendra Narayan Kalita (West Guwahati), Bhaben Bharali (Dergaon), Renupama Rajkhowa (Teok), etc emerged winners. UPPL candidates Luis Islari, Bhaben Boro achieved success.
Jailed RTI activist and peasant leader Akhil Gogoi, who leads Raijor Dol, won in Sibsagar constituency. However, another newly launched regional political party Asom Jatiya Parishad (AJP) sets to lose all candidates including its president Lurinjyoti Gogoi, who reigned as the general secretary of All Assam Student’s Union (AAAU) to form the party as an alternative to both the Congress and BJP. BPF leaders, who were ministers in Sonowal’s cabinet, Chandan Brahma, Pramila Rani Brahma and Rihan Daimary also lost their electoral battles.