After Legislative Council, Bihar Legislative Assembly Becomes LJP ‘Mukt'

Total Views |

LJP_1  H x W: 0 
The lone MLA of the Lok Janshakti Party in Bihar, Raj Kumar Singh, Tuesday joined the Janata Dal-United in presence of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.
In February this year, the lone LJP MLC, Nutan Singh, had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party.
This makes both the Houses of the Bihar legislature LJP Mukt.
The party has been in a state of terminal decline for long.
The LJP founder and former union minister Ramvilas Paswan passed away on October 8 last year.
Founded in 2000, the party represented the marginalised castes in Bihar. But, it couldn’t grow much.
The party currently has five Lok Sabha members. It contested the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha polls in alliance with the BJP.
Paswan had quit the NDA in 2002 and joined the Congress-led UPA.
Just before the Bihar assembly polls last year, the LJP moved out of the NDA fold. It could win just one seat but hurt the JDU in many seats.