Puducherry: Congress leaders join BJP after quitting key posts

Total Views |

Puducherry_1  H 
In a setback to the ruling Congress in Puducherry, its former legislators who resigned on Monday have joined the BJP in Delhi on Thursday.
Puducherry’s public works minister, A Namassivayam was expelled from the Congress party after he made statements regarding quitting. Subsequently, he resigned from the cabinet and MLA’s post along with another Congress MLA and his supporter E Theepaindan. The duo called on senior BJP leaders in Delhi and vowed to bring the BJP to power in the poll-bound union territory. Union home minister Amit Shah tweeted a photo with the new members along with party president JP Nadda.
While addressing the media after joining BJP, A Namassivayam said, “We decided to join the BJP to place Pondicherry in the wheels of progress. We will strive hard to bring the BJP to power after 2021 assembly polls. We will make it happen with the support of people and alliance partners in Pondicherry.”
Regarding the Congress leaders joining BJP, the party National General Secretary (Org) B.L Santhosh tweeted, “Sri A Namassivayam, former minister of Puducherry, Sri E Theeppainthan, MLA from Oussudu, Congress leaders Sri A Jayakumar and Sri S Mourougane, joined BJP today & met National President Sri @JPNadda & Home Minister Sri @AmitShah. Political tsunami building up in the state.”
J.P Nadda is scheduled to arrive in Tamil Nadu’s Madurai on Friday night to hold high-level meetings and also give a public speech on January 30 in the district. On the following day, he will be in Puducherry.
Puducherry is headed to assembly polls in April-May along with Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal and Assam.