Union Government announces 11 chairs in the name of eminent women in various fields of Science & Technology
a_1  H x W: 0 x
On the occasion of National Science Day, Government has announced 11 chairs in the name of eminent Indian women scientists in various fields to inspire, encourage, empower women and give due recognition to young women researchers excelling in various fields.

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has announced several schemes for Women’s Empowerment and the proposal is in line with theme for this year’s National Science Day - ‘Women in Science’.

The 11 Chairs have been instituted in various areas of research including Agriculture, Biotechnology, Immunology, Phytomedicine, Biochemistry, Medicine, Social Sciences, Earth Science & Meteorology, Engineering, Mathematics, and Physics & Fundamental Research.

One of the chairs constituted is under the name of the noted anthropologist Dr IrawatiKarve.

Details are as following:


Chair to be instituted in the name of

Fields with which the Scientist was associated

Dr. Archana Sharma (1932-2008) Renowned cytogenetist

Agriculture and Allied Research

Dr. Janaki Ammal (1897-1984) The Pioneering Botanist


Dr. Darshan Ranganathan

(1941-2001) Organic Chemist


Dr. Ashima Chatterjee (1917-2006) Chemist Par Excellence

Organic Chemistry, Phytomedicine

Dr. KadambiniGanguly(1861-1923) A doctor who broke the muth


Dr IrawatiKarve (1905-1970) Studying Humans


Dr. Anna Mani (1918-2001) Pioneer Indian Meterologist


Dr. Rajeshwari Chatterjee (1922-2010) First Woman engineer from the State of Karnataka


Dr. Raman Parimala (b.1948) Mathematician (Bhatnagar Award, 1987)


Bibhachowdhuri (1913-1991)


Kamal Ranadive (8 November 1917-2001) (medicine)

Biomedical Research