Goa Zilla Panchayat elections: BJP wins 33 seats, Congress 4, NCP 1

Total Views |
a_1  H x W: 0 x
The Goa Zilla Panchayat election results came out on Monday, December 14. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the winner by bagging 33 (1 unopposed) seats. Congress managed to get only 5 seats in its bag.
Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) got 3 seats while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Aam Aadmi Party won one each. Independents registered victory over seven seats.
Of the total 50 zilla panchayat seats in Goa, 48 went to polls. Polling in Navelim seat in south Goa was cancelled due to the death of a candidate while, in Sancoale, the BJP candidate won unopposed.
Zilla Panchayat election was held in 48 constituencies in Goa on Saturday.
Goa recorded a low voter turnout of 56.82 per cent in the polls.
Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant expressed happiness over the BJP's poll performance and said "I humbly bow down before the people of Goa for the trust they have reposed in the Bharatiya Janata Party as well as the Govt of Goa working under my leadership. Let us shape a glorious and Swayampurna [self-reliant] Goa by taking ahead the same trust and confidence.”
BJP president also congratulated Pramod Sawant, state president Sadanand Shet Tanavade and party workers on the party's victory he tweeted: "Congrats to CM @DrPramodPSawant ji, State President @ShetSadanand ji & @BJP4Goa unit for a remarkable victory in the Goa Zilla Panchayat elections. This result shows the faith of Farmers, Labour, Women & Youth in the leadership of @narendramodi ji & policies of BJP govt in State."
It is to be noted that the Elections took place on ballot paper.