Heroes of Indian Defence forces awarded Gallantry medals on Independence Day; 132 Awards awarded to soldiers of Armed and Paramilitary Forces

Gallantry awards for the heroes of our defence forces were awarded today as part of the Independence Day celebrations. President Shri Ram Nath Kovind had approved 132 Awards to Armed Forces Personnel and members of Paramilitary Forces. Raksha Mantri Shri Rajnath Singh has approved four Mention-in-Despatches to the Army Personnel for their significant contributions in different military operations which include one posthumous for ‘Operation Anantnag Town’.
The awards include two Kirti Chakras, one Vir Chakra, 14 Shaurya Chakras, eight Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry), 90 Sena Medals (Gallantry), five Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry), seven Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry) and five Yudh Seva Medals.
Indian Army and CRPF Gallantary Medals

India Army heroes were awarded with 2 Kirti Chakras, 14 Shaurya Chakras, 8 Bar to Sena medals and 90 Sena medals.
Indian Army’s Sapper Prakash Jadhav of 1 Rashtriya Rifles (Mahar) was conferred with Kirti Chakra (posthumously) for his gallant role in an operation in Jammu and Kashmir. Lance Naik Sandeep Singh of 4 Para Special Forces (the unit that conducted the 2016 surgical strikes) was decorated with a posthumous Shaurya Chakra for killing 2 Pakistani infiltrators at close range at LoC Tangdhar last September. Major Vibhuti Shankar Dhoundiyal, the young officer who died fighting Jaish terrorists during cordon laying in Feb in Pinglana, Pulwama was decorated with a posthumous Shaurya Chakra.
CRPF has bagged the maximum of 75 gallantry medals for counter-terrorist operations in Jammu and Kashmir. The force also bagged two President's Police Medal for Gallantry for Assistant Commandant L Ibomcha Singh and Constable Mohd Majahid Khan posthumously.
Indian Navy Gallantry Medals
The braves of the Indian Navy were awarded with 1 Shaurya Chakra and 4 Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry). The awards were given for the Indian Navy Marine Commandos for Operation Shok Baba that resulted in the killing of 5 terrorists in Bandipora, J&K last September.
Indian Air Force Gallantry Medals

Indian Air Force Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman who shot down the Pak Air Force's F-16 during the Balakot air strike, was conferred with the Vir Chakra.
Apart from Vir Chakra, the IAF was awarded with 7 Vayu Sena Medals and 5 Yudh Seva Medals. The five Indian Air Force pilots, Wing Commander Amit Ranjan, Squadron Leaders Rahul Basoya, Pankaj Bhujade, BKN Reddy and Shashank Singh were awarded the Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry) for bombing Jaish-e-Mohammed terrorist camp in Pakistan’s Balakot. All five Indian Air Force officers are Mirage-2000 pilots.
IAF’s woman Squadron Leader Minty Agarwal was awarded Yudh Sewa Medal for her role as a fighter controller during the February 27 aerial conflict with Pakistan.
J&K Police Gallantary Medals
ASI Subash of J&K Police was awarded with Shaurya Chakra for displaying exemplary bravery in an operation in which 2 Pakistani terrorists of Jaish-e-Mohammed were killed in Baramulla on Oct 19,2018. His martyred colleague SI Imran Malik and another cop Ashiq Hussain were also conferred with Shaurya Chakras.
In addition, President Shri Ram Nath Kovind has also awarded one President’s Tatrakshak Medal (Distinguished Service), five Tatrakshak Medals (Gallantry) and two Tatrakshak Medal (Meritorious Service) to the following Indian Coast Guard personnel for their act of conspicuous gallantry and distinguished/meritorious service. Besides, 56 personnel have been awarded Fire Service Medals ahead of Independence Day this year. Of these, President’s Fire Service Medal for Gallantry have been awarded to one personnel, President’s Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service to eight personnel and Fire Service Medal for Meritorious Service to 47 personnel.
It is the huge sacrifices of J&K Police, brave hearts of Army, CRPF, Navy and Air Force against Pak sponsored terrorism which keeps the country together.