BSY takes oath as CM of Karnataka; Begins his 4th innings as CM
Guruprasad  R
B.S. Yediyurappa scripted history in Karnataka politics by becoming the first person to become Chief Minister four times. His fourth stint began on July 26 when he was administered oath by Governor Vajubhai R Vala at a simple ceremony held in Raj Bhavan.
He held a cabinet meeting soon after swearing-in and announced financial compensation to farmers under 'Prime Minister Kissan Samman' scheme. He also announced a ₹ 100 crore loan waiver for weaver community.
" I will follow 'forgive & forget' policy and not do vindictive politics but focus on development instead. People of Karnataka can witness the progress of my Government within 6 months. " said BS Yeddyurappa in his first press meet soon after the swearing-in ceremony.
BSY's next big test will be on Monday when he will seek the trust vote. As of now, he will sail through. However, his biggest challenge will be in the coming six months as BJP has to improve its tally by six seats to achieve a simple majority in the House.
BSY had first become CM in October 2007 when his government lasted for a week. He became CM again on 30 May 2008 when he held the post for close to two years. He ttok oath as CM for the third time on 17 May 2018 when he had to resign within three days.
Yediyurappa was born on 27th February 1943 to Shri Siddalingappa, a farmer and Smt Puttatayamma at Bookanakere of Krishnarajpet Taluk in Mandya District. He has two brothers and two sisters. He completed his B.A. Graduation in Bangalore. He came into the contact of RSS and started his service to the motherland at the age of 15.
In 1965, Yediyurappa went to Shikaripura in Shivamogga district for spreading the work of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. He developed a good rapport with the public and people of Shikaripura because of his simplicity and uncompromising dedication towards the work.