Portfolios announced for new council of ministers: Amit Shah gets Home Ministry in new Cabinet, Sitharaman Finance, Rajnath Defence and Jaishankar External Affairs
A day after the swearing-in ceremony of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his council of ministers, the government allotted portfolio to its new ministers. BJP President Amit Shah will be the new Home Minister while Rajnath Singh has been given the charge of Defence Ministry.
Nirmala Sitharaman will get Finance and Corporate Affairs and S Jaishankar will be External Affairs Minister.
Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank is the new Human Resources Development Minister.
Dr Harshwardhan will look after the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Science and Technology and Earth Sciences.
Prakash Javadekar is the Environment Minister. He will also look after the Information and Broadcasting Ministry.
Piyush Goyal will retain the Ministry of Railways. He will also look after Commerce and Industry Ministry.
Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi retains Minority Affairs.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi will retain Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy and Department of Space.