1857 War of Independence engulfed all of Bharat
The 1857 war for independence against the British East India Company and its troops was a phenomenon that engulfed the entire Bharat. Though historical narrative suggests that the war was limited to a few regions, emerging proof and facts tell us that it was an event where every region, people from every aspect of life and denominations took part and gave their life.
Some accounts of the 1857 War of Independence suggest that the 1857 War of Independence was limited to a few regions. However, a cursory look into the places and regions where the battles of the War of Independence of 1857 were fought, tells us that it was spread all across Bharat, from Bombay in the West to Calcutta in the East and from Rawalpindi (now in Pakistan) in the North to Kerala in the South. 
Here is the list of major cities where the battles for the War of Independence were fought: Delhi, Lucknow, Allahabad (Prayag), Azamgarh, Fatehpur, Banaras (Varanasi), Gorakhpur, Agra, Mathura, Kanpur, Sitapur, Farrukhabad, Jaunpur, Mainpuri, Etawah, Eta, Aligarh, Meerut, Muzaffarnagar, Bareilly, Moradabad, Shahjahanpur, Badaun, Saharanpur, Bijnor, Almora, Bageshwar, Champawat, Nainital, Pithauragarh, Udham Singh Nagar, Banda, Hamirpur, Jhansi, Jalna, Sagar, Khandwa, Kharguna, Burhanpur, Badwani, Nimach, Udaipur, Jodhpur, Mount Abu, Ajmer, Dev , Dhar, Indore, Agar, Jhabua, Rajgarh, Ratlam, Ujjain, Guna, Sehore, Holwar, Kota, Banswara, Pratapgarh, Chittorgarh, Gwalior, Calcutta (Kolkata), North 24 Parganas, Patna, Ranchi, Kangra, Amritsar, Peshawar, Jalandhar , Ludhiana, Hoshiarpur, Gurdaspur, Rawalpindi and Sialkot (both in Pak), Mahendragarh, Ambala, Ferozepur, Peshawar, Sahiwal, Chittagong, Dhaka, Jalpaiguri, Bhagalpur, Hazaribagh, Palamu, Singhbhum, Kolhapur, Karochi, Bombay (Mumbai), Hyderabad and Nagpur. 
Major efforts to overthrow the British in Southern India in 1857 
The reasons and efforts to overthrow the British during the 1857 War of Independence were as exceptional in the Southern parts as it were in the Northern regions.As Savarkar said, safeguarding our Swaraj and Swadharm were the primary goals of the war of independence. The book on the 1857 was of independence by Shridhar Paradkar, lists the instances of revolt against the British in the Southern parts of Bharat.
  • Rangoji Bapu revolts against the British in Satara in 1856
  • May 1857 rebellion of the soldiers of the Pune Armed force
  • Revolt of the soldiers of the Mumbai platoon in 1857
  • Invasion of Sirpur under the command of Bhima Naik in Khandesh in 1857
  • Armed rebellion of the soldiers of 27th Platoon of Kolhapur in July 1857
  • Tatya Tope attacks Kargunda in August 1858
  • Attacks on British troops by Bhagoji Naik in Nashik in October 1857 and again in November 1858
  • Joglekar leads the attacks on the British brigade in December 1857 at Trimbakeshwar
  • Rebellion against the British in March 1858 in Bheed
  • 1858-59 Rebellion against the British troops in Sawantwadi
  • Armed rebellion under the command of Radhakrishna Dandsen in February 1857 in Meedi in Parla village in Kurnool district of Andhra
  • June 1857 Revolt of the 30th Platoon in Andhra’s Kadapa
  • Rebellion of the soldiers of the 1st Cavalry of the British Army at Hyderabad
  • Hoisting of the flag of Independence in July 1857 in Machilipatnam and revolt against British troops in Rajahmundry
  • Attack on British troops in Jaggaiahpet in Andhra
  • Organizing forces against the British in Jamkhandi and Bijapur in Karnataka
  • Armed revolt of the Rohilis in Aurangabad and Bhils in Vizpur against the British Army in 1859-60
  • Attack on British troops by the army of Shorapur in February 1857
  • Attack on British Colonel Davidson at Nizam Darbar in 1859
  • Battle at Bidar in Karnataka between the British troops and the army of Ramrao, Nephew of Chhatrapati Shahu of Satara, in 1867
  • Attack on British troops in November 1857 in Mudol
  • Anti-British demonstrations in Mysore state in 1858
  • Armed rebellion of the soldiers of 8th Madras Platoon in July 1858 in Bangalore
  • Platoon of Indian soldiers from 29 Infantry in Belgaum's rebel against the British in 1857
  • Attack against the British regiment in Karwar in 1858
  • British representative Manson was beheaded in November 1858 in Sureban in Belgaum district of Karnataka
  • King of Nargund in Karantaka rebels against the British rule
  • Bheemrao of Mundi leads the attacks on the British in 1858
  • Dipaji Rane leads the revolt against the British in 1858 in Goa
  • 18th platoon of the British army revolts in Vellore (Madras)
  • Revolutionary uprising in Chingalpet in Madras in 1858
  • Armed rebellion of the 25th and 45th platoon in Kerala in July 1857