Seva Bharati bags Mangala Swaminathan Award for unparalleled flood relief work
Deseeya Sevabharathi was given the award for its unparalleled relief activities carried out during the devastating floods which hit Kerala in 2018 and 2019.
Sevabharati Award_1 
Dr. K. Prasanna Moorthy and M.C. Shajakumar receive Dathopanth Thengdi Award constituted by Dr. Mangalam Swaminathan Foundation from Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi and J.P. Nadda. Also seen is Dr. R. Balashankar (extreme right)
Deseeya Seva Bharati, Kerala chapter of the Rashtriya Seva Bharati, the RSS-inspired charity organisation, won the Dathopanth Thengadi Award sponsored by Dr. Mangalam Swaminathan Foundation, Delhi, for its unparalleled relief activities during the killer floods which hit Kerala in 2018 and 2019.
Foundation Chairman R. Balashankar informed that Seva Bharati saved several flood hit lives from death. Now, the organisation is busy in constructing houses for those who lost their houses and belonging in the killer waves. Award consists of Rs 100,000 and a memento. IANS Senior Editor Ranjana Narayan, Kalakaumudi Senior Editor V. Selvaraj, Spik Makke and Indian Express reporter Kounain Sherrief are the other awardees for their contribution in media activities, reporting in the field of science, arts & culture and investigative reporting about the fraudulent activities on the health front respectively.
The awards were distributed by former senior union minister Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi and BJP working president J.P. Nadda.