2000 girls participated in Manikarnika marathon, a tribute to Rani Lakshmi Bai
Manikarnika marathon is a tribute to Lakshmi Bai who has been a guiding light for all Indians for the last almost 2 centuries.

She was a hero of the first war of Indian Independence. She was very brave and fought several battles against the British, courageously. She was just twenty three years old when she died fighting in a battle. Vijiya ji, Delhi Prant Pracharika, Rashtra Sevika Smiti said that remembering Rani Laxmi Bai’s patriotism, courage and heroism, Rashtra Sevika Samiti Delhi Prant organized a Marathon on 24th Nov 2019, 6:30 am commencing at Gandhi Musuem, Connaught place, New Delhi.
Rashtra Sevika Samiti is the largest women organization in the world upholding Indian culture, values and traditions. It has 4356 Shakhas (branches) in 546 districts and more than three lakh Sevikas (female volunteers) actively involved in socio-cultural activities. Samiti also runs more than 855 service projects all over India for the poor and underprivileged, without regard to religion, caste, creed, sect, gender or ethnicity. These include schools, libraries, computer training centres, free tuition centres etc.
Samiti is undertaking several projects in tribal and Naxal-affected areas for violence hit underprivileged girls. Samiti transforms their lives by empowering them with free education and other required facilities. May it be natural calamity or invasion by enemies of nation, Samiti always comes forward for rescue and rehabilitation work. Sevika Samiti started its own multilingual publication called “Sevika Prakashan” in 1953 and an Indian calendar book called “Dindarshika” in 1965.

The occasion of Manikarnika was graced with the presence of Chief guest Tina Sharma (bodybuilder), special guests like, Upasana Arora (President, Yashoda Hospital), Dr. Tanuja Jain (President, AIIMS), Bindu Dalmia (NITI aayog member), Raj Laxmi Munda (biker and weightlifter), Lt Manju (NCC instructor), Bibi Bulbul (wrestler), Padamshri Santosh Yadav (Mountaineer) and was presided by Dr. Rajni Sareen and other signatories like Asha Sharma, Radha Mehta, Monica Arora (Lawyer).
More than 2000 young girls participated in this 4.8 km long marathon and first 45 girls who completed were awarded gold, silver and bronze respectively and Rs 500 each.