Prof Yashwantrao Kelkar Youth Award 2019 to be conferred on social worker Sagar Reddy

Shri. Sagar Reddy from Navi Mumbai is the recipient of the prestigious ‘Prof Yashwantrao Kelkar Youth Award, 2019’. He has been conferred the award for his social service in looking after at-risk orphans above the age of 18 and working to rebuild their self-respect and all-round development. The unanimous decision of the jury was conveyed by the Convener Prof Milind Smarathe.
The award committee in its decision said that it has been a fond tradition of Kelkar Yuva Puraskar to recognise a social worker each year and it is our privilege to recognize these youth working to rebuild this great nation.
The award will be conferred upon Shri Sagar Reddy on 25th of November, 2019 at the Prof Yashwantrao Kelkar Youth Award ceremony during the 65th ABVP Conference which is set to take place in Agra (Braj) from 22nd to 25th Nov 2019.
Past Recipients
Social worker Sandeep Joshi was awarded Kelkar Yuva Puraskar in 2018 for his innovations in education. Sandeep Joshi was instrumental in creating and successfully implementing innovations in education in government schools.
The 2017 award went to Gopinath R in appreciation of his work for “Child care, protection and development”. Gopinath started the Sparsha Trust and through his individual and Trust’s efforts about 400 deprived children at 8 of the centers around Bangalore are being taken care of.
In 2016, the award was conferred on Addiction Free, Healthy Youth activist and founder of Animal Gym RK Viswajit. The 2015 award was conferred on renowned Bollywood film director and writer Imtiaz Ali for his contributions in waste management and social upliftment of child scrappers in Madhya Pradesh.
About the Award
This Prof Yashwantrao Kelkar Youth Award a.k.a Kelkar Yuva Puraskar comprises a cash component, a certificate and a memento. The primary objective of Prof. Yashwantrao Kelkar Yuva Puraskar is to encourage efforts of young social workers in various fields of public service; acknowledge and respect their good work, bring them into limelight and express gratitude towards them on behalf of the entire youth community. It also aims to motivate students to draw inspiration from the awardees and get inspired to serve the society themselves.